Different Task Modes allow users to switch tasks' recalculation methods once dragged and dropped in different positions on the chart.
There are 3 different task modes which can be set for all Tasks globally (per Program) and individually (per Card):
This mode is always set by the default. When enabled, all related (linked) tasks will be impacted depending on the link type used.
When enabled all related (linked) tasks will not have an impact on dates.
Once locked, tasks cannot be moved on the chart.
This feature can be either selected from the 'Data' Tab on the BigGantt or BigPicture Menu Panel (Header) for the global Program setting, as well as from the 'Context' (Ellipsis) Menu located to the right of each Task on the Gantt's WBS for an individual Parent Task, a Child Task or the whole Group. It can be used in a variety of situations.
'Lock' on a Task, for example, can be used as a 'Read-only' setup on a file. It can prevent other users from moving an important Task around on the Gantt chart or editing it with drag and drop actions.
'Manual' setting, on the other hand, makes link dependency between tasks not to take power over a Task in this mode which can help us to see how far on the Gantt chart can we move that Task without affecting the dependency logic between Sibling and Parent tasks.