This section of the Administration provides an overview of available resources.
There are two different views available:
- Resource list - overview of current Skills / Workload Plans / Holiday Plans / Absences,
- Resource details - detailed view of all Skills / Workload Plans / Holiday Plans / Absences with ability to add new elements.
Security and access
- Only a user with the App admin security role can access and manage the resources using the Resource manager.
- You can modify the settings in the BigPicture drop down at the top > Administration > Resource manager
Search for resources using the characters in the full name field.
Add Jira users as resources and assign them to Workload, Holiday Plans, or define Skills. The list of resources is generated automatically when a Program is created and shows all resources which are assigned to tasks in the scope of created Programs.
|Synchronize with Tempo|
Synchronize your Workload Plans, Holiday Plans, Resources, and Teams with their counterparts in the Tempo app.
|Link to resource detailed view|
Detailed view of all Skills / Workload Plans / Holiday Plans / Absences. Use this view to modify the plans and their start/end dates.
|Current Workload Plan|
The Resource can be assigned to multiple Workload Plans so in this section the active plan is presented.
|Current Holiday Plan|
The Resource can be assigned to multiple Holiday Plans so in this section, the active plan is presented.
|Current absence with the absence period|
The current absence plan with the absence period.
Users can add their own absences using their "My Profile" page.
The currently available skills.
Archiving resources makes it easier for you to know what is a status of a resource.
Navigating the Resource List
In order to find a particular Resource, use the Name search to narrow down the list of entries.
Type in at least three letters into the Name search box to narrow down the list.
Jira entries always have a priority and are displayed first - this mechanism is a function of ResourceID.
Fewer than 500 resources per a connected tool
If you have fewer than 500 entries per connected tool, all users are displayed at the same time. Each entry is visible, but you may need to scroll down to find a particular user or use the search function to narrow down the list.
- If you have 500 Jira users and 500 Trello users you will see 1000 entries in total (500 users per tool).
- If you have 450 Jira users and 50 Trello users you will see 500 entries in total (450 from Jira and 50 from Trello).
More than 500 resources per a connected tool
Without using the Name search filter:
You see only 500 entries - they are sorted by ResourceID. If you have more than 500 entries per connected tool, they won't be displayed at the same time.
- If you have 600 Jira users and 50 Trello users you will see only 500 Jira entries - 100 remaining Jira and 50 Trello are hidden.
- If you have 300 Jira users and 300 Trello users you will see 500 (300 Jira + 200 Trello) - 100 remaining Trello are hidden.
When using the Name search filter:
You see up to 500 entries per connected tool.
- If you have 1500 Jira users and 50 Trello users, after using the Name search, you will see (up to) 500 from Jira and 50 From Trello - 1000 remaining Jira are hidden.
On the Resource Manager screen, archived resources are hidden by default. Use the "Show archived Resources" toggle to show/hide archived resources. When displayed, archived resources are shown with an "archived" label next to their name.
App Admin can manually archive selected individual resources on the Resource Manager page using the "Archive resource" button on the right.
User inactive in Jira
The app will automatically archive individual resources based on their inactive status in Jira (server, cloud).
The app does not automatically unarchive resources based on their Jira status (this operation can be done only manually by the App Admin).
In addition to being archived, inactive users the word "Inactive" next to their name.
The "inactive" status next to the resource name is automatically updated based on Jira information.
Archived resources can be manually unarchived (restored).
User inactive in Jira
The app does not automatically unarchive resources based on their Jira status.
A resource that is inactive in a connected tool (Jira) can't be manually restored until they are active in Jira.
Once a user is active in Jira, you can manually restore them.
Impact on Box modules
Archiving resources doesn't have a functional impact. Archiving resources makes it easier for you to know what is a status of a resource, but it won't prevent you from planning their work.
Archived resources are handled in the same way as active ones - archived users can still be added to Boxes and teams. You can assign them tasks and their workload and capacity will be calculated normally when you assign them tasks.
However, they will be marked as archived in: