Before generating a dump file, upgrade the app (to version 8.2.2 or higher).


The steps below describe how to migrate from server to cloud. 


Steps overview

Before you proceed, please read the following instructions carefully and copy all the steps to a clipboard to keep them at hand. Make sure to complete each step:

  1. Create a backup of the app data 
  2. Create a backup of your Jira environment
  3. Restore Jira data on a new cloud environment
  4. Install the app on the cloud environment
  5. Restore the app backup on Jira cloud 


Step 1 - Create BigPicture backup of your server instance and download it

  1. Go to BigPicture App configuration > Advanced > Database dumps
  2. Click the New dump button. Add a description and confirm by clicking the Create dump button. 

    You will be able to track the progress:
  3. The new database dump should appear at the top of the list of backups.
  4. Press the Download button to save the backup file to the disk (if you don't see the item on the list, refresh the page). 

Step 2 - create a Jira backup and download it

Go to System > Backup system and create Backup 

Step 3 - restore the Jira backup on the cloud environment

Go to System > Restore System and Import data


Step 4 - Install BigPicture on the cloud environment

  1. Go to Jira Apps > Find New Apps and search for the BigPicture plugin
  2. Install the plugin and enter a valid license 

Step 5 - Restore the App database

  1. Go to BigPicture App Configuration > Advanced > Database dumps
  2. Upload DB dump (that you have created earlier on the server) by pressing the Import button

  3. Restore 
  4. Confirm the next step 
  5. Check the confirmation box and press the Next  button 
  6. Confirm the operation by entering the word RESTORE and then press the Restore button

    if the BigPicture instance is not new and some work has already been done on it, this work will be overwritten! BigPicture will automatically dump its current state before performing the restore operation (so that the process can be reversed).

  7. Map the users from server to the users on the cloud side 

    During server to cloud migration, the process of automatic user assignment will be performed. There may be a situation where not all users on the Server side will be matched to the users on the Cloud side. In this case, manually assign users that were not mapped in the automated process (if there are too few users on the JC side, they need to be created before the restore operation):

  8. The database recovery process will start

    After the recovery process is complete, the migration from one instance to another is over. You can go to the BigPicture application and verify the correctness of the data.

Additional step (for BigPicture version 8.2.2)

When?

If you are using BigPicture version 8.2.2 (or lower) follow the additional steps below. 

Why?

After migrating from server to cloud, the risks on the risk module will be grayed out:

 


It happens because server "Risk Consequence" and "Risk Probability" fields don't function the same as Cloud risk fields (field types are different, and on Jira cloud those fields are always locked.)

After Jira and App backups have been restored on the Cloud instance, the risk field mapping you see (Cloud) corresponds to the setup from the Jira server. 

They should be migrated to the new fields "Risk Consequence" and "Risk Probability" created by the App on the Cloud.

The Goal?

Risk field data restored from Jira server can be used on Jira cloud.

What to do?

  1. Go to BigPicture App Configuration > Modules > Risks (Jira cloud)
  2. Change the field mapping - if you were using the standard BigPicture (server) mapping, the field names will be the same (field IDs will be different).
    1. If you want to, you can verify Jira IDs of fields (this usually won't be necessary)
  3. Set the toggle switch to "ON" to ensure the field values are migrated and save changes.

Additional information

Any integration instances after restore operation will be in “not operational” state.
This mechanism is to prevent a situation where two applications make changes in the same integration instance at the same time.

To activate selected integrations, move the switch in the Active column in the App Configuration → Integrations → Connections panel: