Before generating a dump file, upgrade the app (to version 8.2.2 or higher).

Restore of the App IS NOT restore of Jira

This feature does not guarantee that all Gantt, Scope, etc. data will remain the same as at the time that dump was done, due to the difference of issue states present in the environment the dump is restored and synchronization process. The state shift and synchronization may result in irreversible changes to the Jira instance after dump restore.

If you want to perform a full restore you will need to create a backup of both:

  • Jira
  • the App


In order to successfully perform a restore of the state of both the App and Jira you will need to:

  1. At the same time generate backup files for:
    1. Jira
    2. the app
  2. To restore:
    1. first, you need to stop the synchronization between the App and Jira
    2. Restore Jira
    3. Restore the App
    4. Activate the synchronization between the App and Jira


Backup and restore of the App

Create a backup of the App

  1. Go to BigPicture App configuration > Advanced > Database dumps
  2. Press the New dump button, add a description and confirm the process by pressing the Create dump button
  3. The new database dump should appear at the top of the list of backups (page refresh might be needed)

Restore the App backup on the same instance

  1. Go to BigPicture App Configuration > Advanced > Database dumps 
  2. Press the Restore button in the line with the backup name.
  3. Confirm the next step by selecting Restoring saved data and press the Next button
  4. Confirm the operation by entering the word RESTORE and press the Restore button

    If the BigPicture instance is not new and some work has already been done on it, this work will be overwritten! BigPicture will automatically dump its current state before performing the restore operation (so that the process can be reversed).

  5. The database recovery process will start

  6. After the recovery process is complete, the restore is over. You can go to the BigPicture application and verify the correctness of the data.

Additional information - application version mismatch 

If the dump was done on a newer version of the application than the one on which the restore is performed, such operation will not be allowed to be performed. In this case, an update of the application to a newer version (on which the restore process is made) is required.

If the dump was done on an older version of the application and is incompatible with the newer version of the application, such operation will not be allowed to be performed. In this case, an update of the application to a newer version (on which the database dump is made) is required.

Backup and restore of Jira

Create a Jira backup and download it

Cloud

Go to System > Backup Manager > Create backup for cloud 

Server

Go to System > Backup system > Backup 

Restore Jira backup on a staging environment

Cloud

Go to System > Restore System > Import data (import the Jira backup file)

Server

Go to System > Restore system > restore using the Jira backup file (Restore)

Stop/start the synchronization

The source of your tasks (Jira, Trello) and BigPicture App are synchronizing data. Depending on the setup, there may be multiple scheduling BigPicture mechanisms that affect issue information (e.g., a strong dependency can reschedule a task and change its start/end dates). If you simply restore your Jira data, there is a chance that BigPicture scheduling mechanisms will immediately start updating your tasks. 

Stopping the synchronization (temporarily setting the field mapping to Not synchronized) will give you time to perform a BigPicture restore without Jira data being affected in the meantime. 

Stop

Go to App Configuration > General > Tasks

Make sure that all fields (for all projects) are set to Not synchronized. That includes the General synchronization settings and Custom synchronization settings (per project).

Make sure to adjust both the  General synchronization settings and Custom synchronization settings (per project).

Make sure to save the changes 

Start 

Go to App Configuration > General > Tasks

Set up field mapping and save changes to make sure synchronization will take place as normal.