The Box status determines whether you are able to edit the Box information or change the Box configuration.

You can set the status of each Box as one of the following:

  • Not started (grey) - it will be executed in the future, so it is still in the planning phase
  • In progress (blue) - it is currently in execution
  • Closed (green) - it has already finished

When Box status is set to 'Closed' you can't edit the Box information or change the Box configuration. Additionally, all its sub-Boxes are closed as well, if any exist. Closed Boxes are accessible in read-only mode. Data is no longer synchronised - changes made outside of closed Boxes (e.g., directly in a task source) might not be reflected by closed Boxes.


There are different ways in which you can change the status, for example, you can right-click on a Box when in the Overview module, right-click on the Box in the Box configuration > Tasks > Scope definition or in the Roadmap / Board modules.

Transitions 

Box status change 

You can freely change Box status. 

When a Box is closed, all its children are also closed. Closed Boxes function in read-only mode. Data is no longer synchronized, this means that any changes made to Jira isssues/Trello cards after the Box has been closed, will not be reflected by the Box. 

You can't change a status of a closed Box, if its parent/s that is/are closed. 

Objectives vs Box status

When you complete the work and want to close the Box, you will be prompted to decide what to do with the remaining open objectives, once it is already closed:

  • mark open objectives as failed and continue
  • mark open objectives as abandoned
  • do not modify status of open objectives

All objectives previously marked as "Failed" will remain in a given status after reopening the Box. These objectives will also be automatically cloned and added to the next Box with status "Open".

Closing an upper-level Box means that all the sub-Boxes of that Box will be also closed

Archived Boxes

Additional 'status' the box can be set to - Archived. Once a box is archived, the aggregations can no longer be calculated and the box will not bring any valuable business information.

Archived boxes can be viewed by selecting them from the view dropdown.

Limitations of Closed Boxes

When a Box is closed, all its children are also closed. Closed Boxes function in read-only mode. Data is no longer synchronized, this means that any changes made to Jira issues/Trello cards after the Box has been closed, will not be reflected by the Box. You can't change a status of a closed Box if its parent/s that is/are closed. 

Box Configuration is unavailable for closed Boxes. When Box status is set to 'Closed' you can't edit the Box information or change the Box configuration.

Synchronization and scheduling

If a task belongs only to Boxes that are archived or closed, then that task has a scheduling block placed on it.