You can group individual users into teams, which enables effort-based planning. The concept of teams is used mainly in the Resources, Roadmap, and Board modules but, since the information about teams can be stored as a label or a custom field, it can also be displayed using the Gantt, Scope, or Risks module by adding it to the Column Views or Card View.

You can create global teams and assign them to multiple Boxes. Once created, you can easily convert them to Box teams that can not be reassigned.

Team Configuration

Your Teams are not created automatically unless you synchronize with Tempo or inherit the Team from upper-level Boxes. This means that you need to create Teams in the Root Box first:

Team name

The team name is used for identifying teams by the App's modules. It is displayed together with the Team code in the Resources, Board, and Roadmap modules to indicate the team's swimlane and in the Team picker's drop-down when configuring Box level teams.

Team code

Team code is used for identifying teams by the App's modules and, when synchronized, also the Host and connected platforms. Depending on the configuration, the Team code is stored as the following fields:

  • Labels type
  • Select list – single choice type
  • --none-- (not synchronized)

You can use these fields in your JQL to create a Jira Board dedicated to a specific team or as Quick Filters.

Link the team to its Jira Board to quickly switch between different views. Based on this link, the App can auto-configure the Sub-Box scope synchronization and create sprints on the selected Jira Agile Board.

Expand team

A team consists of team members. Expand it to see the full list of members or add new ones.

Membership period

Your resources can be shared across different teams in the same period of time or can be fully allocated to a single team. This can be set using memberships and the availability of the team members. The capacity of your resource will depend on the current membership.

Availability

Calculation of an individual resource's capacity takes into account the availability of the member across all Teams.

Availability impacts capacity based on Workload plans and the number of non-working days. Currently, there is no validation of the availability across different teams, which means that total availability across different teams may exceed 100%.

An individual's capacity in the Resources module is calculated dynamically and will change depending on the applied Team filter.

Edit / Delete entries

Each entry on the list can be edited or deleted.

Add new membership

Use this button to define a new membership and enter the required membership period and availability.

Availability impacts based on Workload plans, and currently, there is no validation, which means that total availability may exceed 100%.

Add new member

Add a new team member from the list of Jira users.

Synchronize with Tempo

Synchronize your Resources data, including:

      • The resource manager (all the listed below)
      • Teams
      • Skills
      • Workload plans
      • Holiday plans

Removing Teams synchronized with tempo. 

The App allows you to remove Teams that are synced with Tempo - you can remove teams from BigPicture that:

  • that no longer exist in Tempo
  • while a synced team is no longer needed (If the item still exists in Tempo, it will be added again during the next sync.)