Changes made in Jira may be visible in BigPicture, BigGantt, and BigTemplate with some delay, depending on the delay of the refresh mechanism for data stored in the cache.

To speed up the propagation of changes, you may proceed to a cache cleanup but, in the case of large data sets, this can cause your plugin to stop working for the resynchronization time.


Propagation of changes with a delay

The following table shows the propagation delay times for the following operations (based on the times of the cache refresh in Jira Cloud):

Change type

From version 8.2.x

Older versions

Change visible to users

installing or uninstalling Jira Software

up to 10 minutes

up to 1 hour


change of license

up to 15 minutes

up to 1 hour


adding, removing, or editing a component

up to 1 hour

up to 1 hour

after Box synchronization or task modification

adding, removing, or editing a Custom Field

up to 1 hour

up to 1 hour


adding, removing, or editing a filter

up to 1 hour

up to 1 hour

after Box synchronization forced manually

adding, removing, or editing a link type

up to 1 hour

up to 1 hour


adding, removing, or editing an issue type

up to 1 hour

up to 1 hour


adding, removing, or editing an issue status

up to 1 hour

up to 1 hour

after Box synchronization or task modification

adding, removing, or editing a workflow 

up to 1 hour

up to 1 hour


adding, removing, or editing a workflow scheme

up to 1 hour

up to 1 hour


adding, removing, or editing a group or its members

up to 24 hours

up to 24 hours


The times presented concern the propagation of status values being cached after a change.
Jira Cloud does not force synchronization of tasks assigned to a given status when it detects that something has changed, so the user will be able to see the change of a given issue only after restarting the Application or clearing the cache memory.

Clicking the “Clear Cache" button invalidates the plugin cache which forces a complete data reload from the Jira database for all boxes and all users (full recalculation of all the program boxes similar to recreating the programs from scratch). Depending on the volume of data in your Jira, it can take up to several minutes to execute while the application will not allow data editing during that time. Use it with caution as it will influence server performance and users' ability to work with the application.

Note that If a Box is not opened for more than 24 hours, the cache will be automatically cleared and a full synchronization will be triggered.

While clearing the plugin cache should correct most of the problems with showing outdated information or occasional glitches, it is important to treat this procedure as the last resort in case of unidentified problems. It should NOT be used routinely, and if such a need arises, please get in touch with support for troubleshooting.

Propagation of changes without any delay

When you update information related to issues or projects in Jira, such changes should be reflected in BigPicture, BigGantt, and BigTemplate in real-time.

The following screenshots present the operations updated without any delay: