Types of Synchronization

Initial sync happens only during the first startup of the plugin. When the plugin is starting-up for the very first time synchronization does not occur, because there are no Boxes in BigPicture/BigGantt yet. At this stage, the parent-child relations have no influence on the synchronization process. Synchronization does not take into account the configuration of the Box, i.e. The Work Breakdown Structure hierarchy (because those things don't exist yet).


All cases of synchronization take into account the following:


  • Task modes
  • Jira permissions of the user who initialized the change
Types of SynchronizationWhen does it occurWho is the author of a change?
Full sync (re-sync)User actions can trigger a request for data synchronization when a user:
  • Opens a Box (e.g. enters any Box module such as the Gantt, Resources or Roadmap module)
  • Enters Jira Issue Details page with 'Work Breakdown Structure' panel of either BigPicture or BigGantt enabled.

An Admin user can manually trigger a re-sync of a Box by:

  • Clicking 'Re-sync' in Data drop-down menu of Gantt's header.
  • Hitting the 'R' key twice on the keyboard while having Gantt or Roadmap module open.

Full sync is in all Boxes after:

  • Turning off the plugin (restarting the plugin)
  • clearing cache
  • Plugin update


The user who triggers a request for Box data synchronization or the Scope Owner
Partial sync (task synchronization)

Partial sync happens when changes were made:

  • in the App
  • in the connected tool

If there were any changes made by a user in a connected tool (such as Jira or Trello), the events related to these changes are queued inside the app. If there are number of changes applied to the same issue within the interval, the last person who updated the issue will be the author of the last queued change.

When the following Jira events are received:

  • Issue Updated,
  • Issue Created,
  • Issue Deleted.

When the user made any of the following changes in the app:

  • The user moved a task on the Gantt's timeline,
  • The user moved a task from one Cadence to another in Roadmap module,
  • The user linked tasks in the Gantt.

If a user tries to perform an action for which they have insufficient Jira permissions, they can't do it, so no sync is necessary.

Author of the change in Jira or in the app.

Authors of changes 

There are three types of users that can be listed as authors of changes: 

  • Current user (the logged in person that makes a change; full sync is an exception)
  • Scope Owner
  • Technical user (in Jira server changes may be listed without any users assigned to a change)