Search

Categories
 BigPicture

About BigPicture

BigPicture installation and updates

Quick start with BigPicture

BigPicture Sizing Guide

Cloud vs. Server - Key Differences in BigPicture on These Platforms

BigPicture Export

Progress Tracking

Tutorials and tips

Integrations

 BigPicture 7.10 and earlier

Concept of a Program

Setting up BigGantt and BigPicture to support next-gen projects


 BigPicture release notes

BigPicture Cloud Backlog

 BigGantt

About BigGantt

BigGantt installation and updates

Cloud vs. Server - Key Differences in BigPicture on These Platforms

 BigGantt release notes

Shortcuts
 Release notes
 BigPicture
 Jira Cloud

 Jira Server

 Trello

 BigPicture Enterprise
 Jira Cloud

 Jira Server

 BigGantt
 Jira Cloud

 Jira Server

 BigTemplate
 Jira Cloud

 Jira Server

Knowledge Base

Tutorials and tips

Trust Center

BigPicture 8 is here!

Discover the landmark edition of the Atlassian Marketplace top-selling app! The new version is available to all Cloud, Server and Data Center users. Visit BigPicture 8 Documentation to learn more about it.


Applies to:

     


Highlights:



About the issue

It has come to our attention that in some projects that had been administered by a specific user, if that one user had created a project filter which is picked as a major rule for the purpose of a project synchronisation, our plugins which offer a Gantt chart module may encounter the error once the mentioned user or their filter is deactivated or removed from JIRA’s perspective. This issue may create a false idea that the error occurs within the chart itself.


How the issue can manifest itself?


  • Create a Program

Create a Program


If one of your users with administrative permissions created a JIRA project filter which later was shared with a group of other users and picked as one of synchronisation rules (as per screenshots below), some synchronisation issues may occur in a couple of scenarios which you can familiarise with in the following sections:


  • Create your Filter and Share it with other users

        Create a Filter                Share the Filter


  • Set the Filter in 'Data scope' as a your only filtering option

        Set the Scope


  • Deselect 'Remove tasks not in filter option'

          Sync Up


  • Your Gantt chart should be properly synchronised now

         View Your Gantt Chart

Back to the 'Highlights'

Scenario 1:

Deleting the filter.


  • Once your filter is in place and you decide to delete it in JIRA even if you create a new task it will not be displayed in your Gantt chart. Even after re-sync of your data in BigPicture or BigGantt.

          Delete the Filter in JIRA


          Create a new Issue                    Resynch

Back to the 'Highlights'

Scenario 2:

Deactivating the user.

  • The same issue should occur once you deactivate the user that created the Filter.

                                


            


Workaround / How to avoid?

In order to avoid this issue it is highly recomended for the main JIRA administrator to administer filter and synchronisation option.

Once the issue has already occured it is recomended to create a new filter with the same scope, yet in both cases 'Scope context User' has to be switched to a new one (preferably main JIRA admin as stated above).




BIGPICTURE-3174 - Getting issue details... STATUS




These are some source JIRA issues which cover the area of user and filters creation/edition/deactivation as well as the scope view configuration:

Related issues


  1. JIRA Server - Create, edit, or remove a user
  2. JIRA Cloud - Using scope filters
  3. JIRA Could - Configuring the scope view